EES wing named after Jones, Foard

From Staff Reports

A wing of Eupora Elementary School has been named in memory of two former principals at the school.

Approval was given at the Jan. 15 meeting of the Webster County School Board. Minutes reflect that President Bobby McMullen discussed the naming of hallways/wings of Eupora Elementary’s building in memory of O.D. Jones and Wiley Mae Foard, who were principals for many years at the school in the 1960s and 1970s.

After some discussion, according to the minutes, Nancy Davis (District 2) moved the board approve naming the main hallway at EES the Jones/Foard Wing. Keith Hudspeth (District 5) seconded the motion and it was approved unanimously.

Other Business After discussion by Superintendent Jack Treloar and the board of changing the meeting date and time for school board meetings, the board voted for the board meetings to be held on the first and second Monday of each month at 6 p.m.

McMullen and Davis were re-elected board president and vice president/ secretary, respectively, for 2013 by acclamation. Hugh Gibson was reappointed board attorney.

Board members approved a recommendation from Treloar to advertise for a 16th Section agricultural lease of 87 acres.

The board approved three student transfers to Webster County under the provisions of the district’s tuition policy, minutes show. The requests were from Stacey Elkins for her son, Levi Elkins; Derek and Michelle Reed for their son, Lawson Reed; and Nicole Reed for her son, Aiden.

All three requests are for the 2013-14 school year. Letters from the Oktibbeha County School District releasing the students pending acceptance from Webster County were presented.

The board approved Mississippi School Boards Association policy revisions that had been tabled at the previous board meeting and tabled a recommended revision to the “Booster Organizations” policy.

Eupora Elementary School Principal Trey Rolison discussed/requested having a fundraiser of selling sport logo plastic tumblers, which was approved. He also introduced Eupora Elementary’s Lauren White as the Webster County Board of Education Student of the Month for November.

Consent Agenda These items were approved as a part of the consent agenda: • donations of four pieces of exercise equipment and 75 band uniforms from Mississippi State University to East Webster High School; and of an Apperson scanner, Active Board, two Elmo document cameras and four data projectors from the East Webster Elementary School Parent Support Group to EWES. • Brittany Mann as a long-term substitute teacher beginning from approximately Feb. 18-March 29. • a manual check for $222 to Holiday Inn Express for lodging for Bill Brand, EWHS principal, while attending the Mississippi Athletic Administrators’ Conference in Vicksburg. • Kristi Tedder as an assistant teacher at EES beginning Jan. 16. • fundraisers for the Eupora High School powerlifting team, the EWHS football team and baseball team. • permission for the Eupora baseball team to play three games in Pensacola, Fla., during spring break. This will be at no cost to the district. • Katie Simmons and Kellie Johnson as substitute cafeteria workers for the remainder of the school years. • Kristy Whitaker as a part-time cafeteria worker beginning Jan. 16. • the transfer of 16th Section acreage from Orlyn Lott to her son, Larry K. Lott of Saltillo.