Webster county players selected for honors

By Ruthie Robison The Webster Progress-Times

With the end of the Mississippi High School Activities Association 2012 football season, several Webster county players were selected as Region 2-2A honorees.

Eupora The Eupora Eagles stacked up postseason awards commemorating a historical season. Senior wide receiver Derrick Jones was selected as Region 2-2A most valuable player for the 2012 MHSAA football season. The Eagles were awarded Region 2-2A coaching staff of the year honoring head coach Junior Graham and Eupora’s staff comprising of Thad Walker, Michael Knight, James Courtney, Bryant Thomas, Chad White and Dicenzo Miller.

Eagles selected to the All-Region offense team include sophomore quarterback Trey Pittman, senior fullback Vandy Smith, senior wide receivers Jones and Jamall Roby, sophomore tight end Will Bowen and sophomore place kicker Justin Lewis.

Eupora selections on the All-Region defense team include senior defensive end Patrick Marshall, senior cornerback Lazerick Davis, sophomore strong safety Rusty Johnson and return specialist Jones.

Honorable mentions include junior offensive guard Beau Smith, senior linebacker Markelle Eichelberger and senior running back Savon Daughtery.

East Webster The East Webster Wolverines received All-Region honors for their performances in the 2012 MHSAA football season.

Wolverine players selected to the All-Region offense team include junior center Colby Williamson and sophomore Deangelo Liggins.

All-Region defense honorees include senior linebacker Thomas Brooks and senior long snapper Austin McGinnis.

Honorable mentions include senior defensive end Austin Cunningham and freshman place kicker Tyler Cosby.